Prelude

It is the day before I turn 45, so it’s fitting that I start trying to pull all the disparate threads of my life so far into a narrative, to help me understand where I am going.

Working, living, loving, discovering. The older I get, the more I realize I don’t spend enough time thinking about what I consider to be the important things. I get too tied up in the priorities of others, and maybe spend too much time thinking about why what others do rather than why I do things.

I want to write, I want to tell stories, I want to communicate. I guess this is where I start. I don’t know where this is going to go, I don’t know for how long, but it is a start, the start of my journey into the second half of the “fourscore and ten”.

Got off to a good start with my morning run, as I am trying to get in shape enough to have a decent showing in the 5k I might be running at the beginning of November. Two 5Ks in one year. I have a long time to go before matching H’s half marathon, but I am slowly getting active again.

Leave a Reply

